History


The Brickworks Markets, situated at 36 South Road Torrensville, is located on a huge 6 hectare site just minutes from the city of Adelaide. Established in 1983, the Brickworks Markets have developed into Adelaide’s premier market with a great variety of attractions and activities. The Markets are built around the historic and heritage-listed Brickworks “kiln” and landmark chimney.

The Brickworks Markets opened in 1983 on the site of the old Hallett Brickworks. At the centre of the markets is the historic Hoffman Kiln. Built in 1912 and operated until 1975 by Hallett Brick Industries, the Hoffman Kiln is a fascinating structure.

The Hallett Company built the Hoffman Down Draught or “Bee Hive” Kiln (named after Hoffman, the German Designer) in 1912. It was the largest and first of its kind in South Australia.

The kiln had 20 compartments with a capacity of 300,000 bricks and produced a weekly output of approximately 180,000 wire cut bricks.

The Hoffman Kiln was the first in South Australia with mechanical stokers and operated at temperatures of 2000° C.

The site of the Brickworks Markets was originally called Halletts Federal Yard and was chosen because of its proximity to the Torrens River. This ancient river (it was once much larger) over millions of years, had deposited ceramic material eroded from the Mount Lofty ranges. The site was eminently suitable for a brick yard and was fondly referred to by the locals as a ‘pughole’.

The new Brickworks Markets is built around the Hoffman Kiln which now houses an array of stalls and bric-a-brac on two levels.

The Markets are set on a sprawling 6 hectare site featuring over 130 stalls with products ranging from gardening to hardware, fashion to furniture, posters to toys, and gifts to stationery. There is something for everyone!

Photo Gallery